Discord is a text and voice communication platform marketed towards gamers. One main feature of their text platform is the ability to upload up to 8MB (50MB for paying users) files and embed them in messages. Each file has a publicly accessible permalink which allows sharing it outside of Discord. One common criticism that seems to be floating around is that Discord doesn’t delete your files if you delete the messages they are attached to. The proof for this is that if you delete a message containing a file and immediately try to access the permalink to it, the file still shows up, with the conclusion being Discord didn’t delete it as requested. I decided to test this to ultimately figure out what actually happens.